What people are saying


The Last Shade Tree, Panofsky’s tremendous first novel, takes readers on an enlightening journey across time and around the world alongside protagonist Sequoyah Morgan Hummingbird, a withdrawn yet emotionally and expressively gifted Cherokee man shaped by the heart-wrenching trauma of his early life. Sequoyah fights to come into his own despite both his hardships and the ever-present burden that he faces as a chosen specimen in the enigmatic Moon People’s dictatorial master plan. Sequoyah’s journey is influenced and guided by friends, family, enemies, lovers, and by his unique insight into the ominous future that awaits a dangerously heedless humanity.

This is a captivating story that is part science fiction, part historical fiction. I found it thought-provoking and unique, and it proved to be an absolute page-turner!

This book also has a website—Don't forget to check it out! It is an amazing resource with information on all of the historical events mentioned in the book.

Amazon review by Alex McIe, October 15, 2017


A wonderful mix of SciFi, human emotions, and extraordinary character portraits. History permeates the pre/post apocalyptic world. A wonder-filled read. Margaret ties diverse cultures and mores' with characters who come alive on the page. The hope of a better future is prevalent.

Review by Patrick Conroy on Amazon, September 24, 2017


I fell in love with the Cherokee Hero!
I just finished reading Margaret Panofsky's new book—The Last Shade Tree, that features a Cherokee Hero's adventures and personal struggles. It is fantasy, drama, romance and history, including the tragedy of the Trail of Tears. From the first moment I was hooked - as the story unfolded - I was captivated! It's is definitely a page turner / great read! This wonderful book has its own Facebook page and website.
 

Review (unsigned) on Amazon, September 16, 2017, and Facebook post on the website, Cherokee Woman, September 12, 2017


Like Dr. Who's Tardis, this book is much bigger on the inside than from the outside.

There's at least a three book series in here, on the order of Neil Stephenson's Baroque Cycle or his longer standalone novels. As with Stephenson, there are lots of different (and distant) major themes all going on at once, a regular confluence of mythologies. With lots of other big and small pieces thrown is as appropriate. ...

So this is a really good, fun and ambitious book which some readers may find it hard to start. Might I recommend starting with a notebook (or spreadsheet) at hand to jot down names and relationships so you don't get the major characters (and their parents and siblings and friends) confused. The effort is probably necessary and definitely worth the effort.

Review by Dan Eaves on Amazon, September 2, 2017


Total page turner, couldn't put it down! Read it at night and went to work exhausted every day until I finished it. And utterly unique.

Review on Amazon by “A Reader,” September 2, 2017


The only ecological time travel family saga romance I've ever read! And of course, my favorite genre, a page turner!

Review by Phyllis F. Farmer on Amazon, August 19, 2017


The pre-publication review of the The Last Shade Tree’s manuscript is written by Alex McIe, a voracious and knowledgeable reader of a wide variety of science fiction and fantasy. She is a PhD candidate in ethnomusicology at New York University. 

The Last Shade Tree, Panofsky’s tremendous first novel, takes readers on an enlightening journey across time and around the world alongside protagonist Sequoyah Morgan Hummingbird, a withdrawn yet emotionally and expressively gifted Cherokee man shaped by the heart-wrenching trauma of his early life. Sequoyah fights to come into his own despite both his hardships and the ever-present burden that he faces as a chosen specimen in the enigmatic Moon People’s dictatorial master plan. Sequoyah’s journey is influenced and guided by friends, family, enemies, lovers, and by his unique insight into the ominous future that awaits a dangerously heedless humanity.

Reading The Last Shade Tree is a compelling, enjoyable, and deeply thought-provoking experience. This book provides everything I could want as a reader and enthusiast of science fiction; time travel, complex mythology, witty satire, apocalyptic scenarios, and an engaging cast of characters. With vivid descriptive prose and engaging dialogue, Panofsky treats her readers to a novel infused with romance and adventure, at times humorous, and often deeply serious. From cover to cover, the plot is fast-paced and exciting, which Panofsky achieves without ever neglecting the attention to detail that animates both her characters and their vividly atmospheric surroundings. The range and complexity of characters serves to explore the many facets of the human condition, where each character displays a believable array of strengths and imperfections, and each grows and transforms as they face the consequences of good, bad, and sometimes unthinkable experiences.

In today’s volatile world, The Last Shade Tree emerges as a crucial reminder that many of our predecessors’ transgressions still go overlooked or are underplayed within contemporary society. A history forgotten is doomed to be repeated, and I encourage readers to explore the very real history behind many of the events in The Last Shade Tree that have been so meticulously considered and researched for the purpose of this edifying novel. The book’s website lastshadetree.com provides a welcome introduction to readers seeking to discern fact from fiction. My initial reading of this book was undertaken in conjunction with this auxiliary material, and as a result, my greater awareness of and deeper sense of empathy for several of the book’s historical events has for me been one of the foremost successes of this book. Panofsky’s respectful and informed presentation of multicultural characters further serves this apparent objective, and should not go under-appreciated.

As an avid lover of science fiction works both old and new, I appreciated this book's resemblance in content and tone to the mid-20th century era of the genre. I would particularly recommend The Last Shade Tree to all with an interest in the science fiction genre and to anyone attracted by history, culture, and reflections on the human condition. However, the profound narrative, expressive writing, and wholly original concept are sure to intrigue and please a vast audience. 

Review by Alex McIe: June 10 2016